Village of Milan
The Village of Milan is a classic example of the high quality of life found in small town America. The Firelands was given as compensation to Connecticut families burned out and ...
Village Departments
The Village of Milan is formed by 10 primary departments including: Building, Electric, Finance, Police, Mayors Court, Streets, Utilities, Water, Waste Water, and Zoning.
Businesses in Milan
The Milan Chamber of Commerce has grown to be a strong, progressive, volunteer organization of over 140 business members. Businesses of all sizes derive value from...
Milan Schools
Milan is extremely fortunate to have an outstanding public school system available to its younger residents in the Edison Local Schools. The school district has achieved a designation of EXCELLENT having...
Milan Public Library
The beautiful Carnegie building houses the Milan-Berlin Township Public Library at 19 E. Church Street. The Public Library provides full services to area residents with...
Historic Museums of Milan Ohio
Milan is home to the Edison Birthplace Museum, and the Milan Historical Museum which is a seven building campus located just steps from the birthplace of America's greatest inventor, Thomas A. Edison.
Clock Tower on Town Hall - Milan Square - Milan, Ohio Photo courtesy of
Departments of Milan Ohio
Electric Department Information
Photo of Signage for 125th Anniversary of the Light Bulb The Electric Department in Milan has been providing power to the residents of Milan since 1901. Supervisor Lew Kalin and Tyson Metz know the importance of preventative maintenance and works diligently throughout the year to assure the reliability of our power system. The power used by our residents and businesses is generated by a portfolio of generating plants shares of which are owned by the Village. This ownership position allows the Village to provide power at cost effective rates. Most recently 70% has come from a coal fired generating station in southern Ohio, 14% from a hydro-electric facility on the Ohio River and 8% hydro-electric from dams at Niagrara Falls and along the St. Lawrence Seaway. 22% of the power provided to our residents is currently “green” power provided by renewable sources. New generating projects are currently underway that will increase the amount of green renewable power to upwards of more than 40% of our power needs.

The Electric Department is located at 179 S. Main Street.

The Electric Department operates between 7 A.M. and 3:30 P.M. and may be contacted at 419-499-2133 or email [email protected]

Please call the police line, 419-499-2001 24/7 to report power outages.
Eagle Statue Photo from Town Square in the Village of Milan Ohio
Related Links Contact Us Today

11 S. Main Street
PO Box 1450
Milan, OH 44846

Mayor -
(419) 499-2631

Administrator -
(419) 499-2944